

Albuquerque Chapter of the Military Officers Association of America

Albuquerque Chapter, MOAA

History of the Chapter

The Albuquerque Chapter was organized on August 12, 1958. It was chartered by The Retired Officers Association (TROA) as an affiliate Chapter on August 20, 1958. The purpose was to provide a nucleus for social gatherings of retired military officers. Since 1958, the Chapter has evolved in many ways, as has the national organization that was renamed the Albuquerque Chapter of the Military Officers Association of America several years ago. Chapter purposes now include:

- To promote the aims, objectives, and national legislative programs.
- To promote state legislative programs beneficial to uniformed service retirees.
- To provide useful services for and protect the interests of members, their survivors, and dependents.
- To facilitate camaraderie among members.
- To include qualified people who display an interest in uniformed services.
- To support philanthropic purposes as approved by the Board of Directors.

Hundreds of dedicated volunteers have contributed to the remarkable success of the Chapter over the last 50+ years, their achievements recognized by National MOAA, local veteran-supported organizations, and the local community. The Chapter adopted Bylaws and rules that:

- Expanded membership to include all veterans (not just retirees), enlisted veterans (not just officers), active and retired members of the Reserve Components (not just federal services), military family members (such as widows), and others who have no military affiliation.
- Integrated the Tours and Ski Club from Kirtland AFB affiliation into the Chapter, augmenting the Chapter membership and funding through mutually beneficial activities.
- Expanded the Charitable Giving Program to include many worthy veteran and military support organizations, such as Blue Star Mothers, Gold Star Mothers, Kirtland AFB quarterly awards, High School Junior ROTC programs, UNM ROTC programs (Army, Navy, Air Force), Fallen Warrior project, New Mexico Veterans Memorial, and New Mexico Veterans Integration Center.
- Established an endowment fund through the Albuquerque Community Foundation to provide a secure, permanent source of funds for charitable contributions.
- Maintained a monthly Chapter Breakfast Club with guest speakers of interest to members.
- Increased support of legislative initiatives favorable to active duty, retired, and past military servicemembers and their families, especially surviving spouses.
- Strengthened information exchange and program support with and through other military-associated organizations, such as the Association of the US Army, Navy League, Air Force Association, Department of Veterans Services, New Mexico Adjutant General, Reserve Officers Association, New Mexico National Guard, Sons of the American Revolution, and United Veterans Council.

Chapter members should be extremely proud of the accomplishments of the organization and their many contributions to the activities and achievements throughout the history of the Chapter and into the future.

PAST PRESIDENTS OF THE ALBUQUERQUE CHAPTER

LtCol Dorsey Cullen, USAF	1958-1959
2d Lt James C. Phillips, Jr, USAF	1960
Col Cecil J. Dowd, USAF	1961
LTC Adrian Bregnard, USA	1962
MAJ Philip E. Eyer, USA	1963
LCDR A. Leo Smith, USN	1964
CAPT William T. Greenhalgh, USN	1965
Col Jefferson Z. Amacher, USAF	1966
Col Paul A. Fitzgerald, USMC	1967
LTC William Cossick, USA	1968
CAPT Oscar E. Hagberg, USN	1969
MAJ Raleigh H. Davis, USA	1970
LTC Harold W. Olson, USA	1971
Col Russell R. Bessom, USAF	1972
Col Cecil J. Dowd, USAF	1973
LTC Julius B. Sadilek, USA	1974
LtCol David S. Grossett, USAF	1975
LTC Raymond H. Schwab, USA	1976
LTC Billie M. Barbee, USA	1977
Col Raymond H. Gilbert, Jr, USAF	1978
COL Belvin S. Freeman, USA	1979-1980
Col Raymond H. Gilbert, Jr, USAF	1981
Col Jack W. Stevens II, USMC	1982-1983
COL Henry H. McLauchlin, USA	1983-1985
LtCol William H. Drumm, USAF	1985-1987
COL Richard H. Schuler, USA	1987-1989
CDR Harvey N. Monroe, USN	1990
Col John Donnellon, USAF	1991
Col Gilbert Martinez, USAF	1991-1992
CAPT Eric W. Krieger, USN	1993-1994
LtCol Lorenzo D. Smith, USAF	1994-1996
LTC George Pierce, USA	1997-1998
LCDR Joseph Schneider, USN	1999-2000
Col Larry D. Hellikson, USAF	2001-2003
Maj John L. Jenkins, USMC	2004-2006
Maj Bob E. Rider, USMC	2007-2008
Col Charles E. Wood, USMC	2009-2010
COL Roger W. Mickelson, USA	2011-2014
LTC Walter Paul, USA	2015-2018
CDR Michael J Cochrane, USN	2019-
Continue of Continue, Cont	_017